Is It Art?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Glorsclaws

Photographic Geek
Reaction score
As a Creative tech I suppose Im influenced by their sleek style in nails and thats what I generally aim for when working on a client.
Gigi & Sam are my main inspiration when working with p&w and I try to keep my nails 'real' ie: neat, refined and wearable ... I did say try, :lol:

When working with Nail art I like to let my own creativity run wild but, Im also inspired by artists such as Antony Buckley & Trang Nguyen. Both these techs create incredibly artistic & flamboyant nails but both have something in common with Gigi & Sam ... their nails are still sleek and refined.

I find sometimes when I look around that a lot of peeps seem to ignore refining the shape of the nails when working with nail art, so Im interested to know ... when looking at/working with arty nails ... do you still consider the shape or do you just see the art?

glo, no matter what art work i'm putting over the top of the enhancements i do i make sure that the foundation is correct, some of the art i do on some ladies is a bit over the top and very bling, but the l&p is always the same, i always keep my enhancements thin, and always look for the line of light.
no matter what goes on top!!!!!!

i totally agree with you glo!!, it seems that some ppl wil have the most atrociousely shaped nails, all claw like and long, too long , to be able to get the art on it, and the nail art is fantastic, but the overall look is then spoilt by the form of the nail,
its not often i do any art , but if i do i make the nail as i normally would, symetrical, pleasing to the eye, not over long etc etc and then start on the art!!!!

When creating nail art with l&p I find that I will sacrafice the art so that the form and shape of the nail is as it should be. Well that's what I try to do:irked: