Am I too old to enter the beauty industry?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blush09

Reaction score
i currently work as a health care assistant, have recently qualified as a makeup artist and was planning to take further training in other fields of beauty but a colleague commented that perhaps im too old to offer beauty treatments .. im almost 40 :cry:

this has really put me off my stroke, i wanted to learn other beauty skills as i thought makeup wouldnt be so popular during the recession, am i really too old ? how long can i realistically work as a beauty therapist if i do decide to go for it? and can any of you recommend any popular beauty treatments that a customer wouldnt mind an oldie like me performing on them? i was thinking manicures, pedicures and facials

many thanks
blush09

Ok first, you need to give that collegue of yours a kick!!! Of course your'e not too old.

I started college age 36 and am now fully qualified and have my own salon, all done within 3 years. DO NOT allow anyone to question your dreams. Go for it and anjoy every minute. Oh and btw, I wasn't the eldest on my course either!

I got into this industry at 40 and I think you will find that many geeks did too!

Why should your age have anything to do with it? You have life experience and wisdom to offer.:)

You have life experience and wisdom to offer.:)

Couldn't agree more ....this will set you above the rest of the class and enable you to be better prepared to take on the ups and down's of running your own business.

You go for it ..be self confident in what YOU do and believe in and together with your "life experience" you will be far better prepared than most.

Good luck:hug:

P.S. I would most certainly suggest that you go back to the college and the individual who made those comments concerning your age and set them right...cheeky blighter :smack: